



#### UNIVERSITY OF LIVERPOOL / XJTLU JOINT LIAISON GROUP

# TERMS OF REFERENCE 2023/24

#### **Terms of Reference**

The Committee's responsibilities and decision-making powers are as follows:

To act as a channel of communication between the University of Liverpool and XJTLU in respect of strategic aspects of the relationship between the two institutions. Operational issues will be dealt with by an XJTLU Operations Working Group chaired by the Dean for Xi'an Jiaotong Liverpool University. Matters which will fall within the remit of the Joint Liaison Group (JLG) will be:

- Partnership Matters
- Teaching and Learning
- Taicang
- Research
- Policy
- Planning
- Student and Staff Mobility
- Office for Students Regulatory Framework

Specialist leads at UoL and XJTLU will be identified for each of the above areas. Joint Liaison Group members and Leads within each institution will meet before the next JLG to provide an update and to identify JLG agenda items.

#### Reporting Relationships

The UoL-XJTLU Joint Liaison Group reports to the Collaborative Provision Committee.

## **Frequency of Meetings**

The UoL-XJTLU Joint Liaison Group usually meets four times per academic year.

### Membership

University of Liverpool	
Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Education (Chair)	Professor Gavin Brown
Dean for XJTLU	Professor Simon Jones
Director of Academic Quality and Standards	Ms Trish Barker
Academic Quality Support Officer (Secretary)	Mr Alan Smithson
XJTLU	
Vice-President for Academic Affairs	Professor Zhoulin Ruan
Chief Officer of Ecology	Professor Stuart Perrin
Director, Centre for Academic Affairs	Mr Chuanhui Zhu

Other representatives may be asked to attend specific meetings according to the agenda Specialist Leads for each institution will be:

University of Liverpool	
Partnership Matters	Professor Gavin Brown, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Education
Teaching and Learning Taicang	Professor Simon Jones, Dean for XJTLU
Research	Professor Georgina Endfield, APVC, Research Environment & PGR
Student and Staff Mobility	Professor Simon Jones, Dean for XJTLU
Policy	Ms Trish Barker, Director of Academic Quality and Standards
Planning	Ms Ann Rees, Strategic Planning Officer
XJTLU	·
Partnership Matters	Vice-President for Academic Affairs, Professor Zhoulin Ruan
Teaching and Learning	Professor Adam Cross, Associate Vice- President (Education)
Taicang	Professor Stuart Perrin, Chief Officer of
Student and Staff Mobility	Ecology
Research	Professor Fei Ma, AVP (Research and Impact)
Policy	Mr Chuanhui Zhu, Director, Centre for
Planning	Academic Affairs

# **Meeting Dates**

- 17 October 2023
- 20 February 2024
- 23 April 202405 July 2024